1) I Give Up; 2) Orange Blossom

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by P Thought, Apr 24, 2020.

1. P Thought

P Thought Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

1) While I really do mean to rein myself in on this TDPRI habit, and I still might have to cut it off completely for a while in order to do that, it's clear to me that now is not the time. While I managed to avoid posting on the open forum for almost a month, I hardly slowed down at all on reading posts and threads. Sorry I ever said anything in the first place--embarrassing--but sorry, I'm back at least for now. I am grateful to those of you who corresponded with me in PMs; times is lonesome even for hermits right now.

2) I've decided that if it's not a rule, it should be: anyone who calls therself a country musician must have a personal "Orange Blossom Special" in ther repertoire. I ain't, and I want to fix that.

I'm an Ivory Soap musician: 99 44/100% of my performances are at home for no audience, but they are performances none the less. So I'm putting this together just for me and whichever amp/no amp configuration I have in my hand. I'm going to work it out in E, because that's my voice's favorite key, and it's the key for which I'm quickest with the mostest where scales and chords are concerned, up and down the fretboard, though I'm working to strengthen myself in some of the others.

One of the things that I think is best about this song is that it has several distinct movements, I think you can call them that, and that each movement has room for much interpretation on the part of the performer. I have to figure the chord progressions first. I think I can do that eventually from listening to YouTube recordings, but I'm willing to cheat: does anyone have a "Nashville Numbers" chart for this song?

loco gringo likes this.
  2. brookdalebill

brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

Sir, I have called myself a country musician since I was 12.