“Two way” vs “dual action” truss rod - difference??

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by tkmclaughlin, Nov 21, 2019.

1. tkmclaughlin

tkmclaughlin TDPRI Member

Novice builder here. Until now I have used only the spoke wheel truss rod from Stew Mac (because that’s what David Fletcher’s vids taught me how to use and it’s all I knew how to do). But after more learning, I’d like to move to a headstock adjustable rod. But I’m confused between the difference (if any) between “dual action” and “two way” truss rods. Since “dual” means “two” it seems to me both move “two ways”, in other words to correct a forward bending neck or a backward bending neck. No? Pls help!

Example, what is the practical difference between these two rods:

https://www.bitterrootguitars.com/Truss-Rod-Dual-Action-18-1-8-Bulk-10-pack-p/081239-10p.htm

https://www.bitterrootguitars.com/Truss-Rod-Two-Way-18-1-8-5-Pack-p/081209-5p.htm

2. E-miel

E-miel TDPRI Member

Hello, I'm a novice builder too. But to my knowledge dual action and two way truss rods are the same.

Your hyperlinks are not working for me.

tkmclaughlin likes this.
  3. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

They are the same thing and the terminology is just different. They are more modern as opposed to a vintage rod which is just a one way compression type rod. You should know that the blue import rods require more fiddling with the slot than a Stewmac hotrod which only requires one rectangular slot.

The end block of the import rods are wider than the rod and taper downward a bit. A chisel can do the work.

Last edited: Nov 21, 2019
    tkmclaughlin likes this.
  4. Peegoo

Peegoo Tele-Holic

The ones you linked to--they are made slightly differently from each other, and the two-way requires a slightly smaller channel. But they both operate the same way: they can force the neck to flex either up or down.

tkmclaughlin likes this.
  5. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Friend of Leo's