“Is the speaker broken in?”....

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Neener, Sep 26, 2021.

1. Neener

Neener Tele-Afflicted

I’m selling a speaker on reverb and I’ve had multiple people ask “is the speaker broken in?”

How the hell do I know? Lol

I tell them I bought it used, played it for a week or so and took it out.

Am I missing something? Is there a way for me to physically see or hear if a speaker has been “broken in”?

It is curious, I would never think to ask that before buying a speaker, but than again I am new to this particular rabbit hole.

Last edited: Sep 27, 2021
  2. Harbinger77

Harbinger77 Tele-Meister

They’re right to ask, and your admonition of a reasonable query makes you an untrustworthy seller in the ‘buy before you try’ realm.

3. Zoso420

Zoso420 Tele-Meister

Seems he doesn't want to lie to them and is asking us on how to know..... anyway I would like to know also

4. Timbresmith1

Timbresmith1 Tele-Afflicted

Unless you know more about the speaker’s usage by the former user’s disclosure, your answer is fair and reasonable, imo.

5. SnidelyWhiplash

SnidelyWhiplash Friend of Leo's

Not fair to call the OP untrustworthy. There is no physical way to tell if the speaker in ? is broken in. If it was used for a week, as stated, probably not, but who knows???

clingin_on, Neener and Zoso420 like this.
  6. Neener

Neener Tele-Afflicted

I didn’t say they didn’t have a right to ask, I just found the question puzzling on my end.

I answered to the best of my ability and explained (in greater detail than I wrote here) the history of my purchase and my experience with the speaker.

And im an extremely trustworthy and friendly reverb seller! I was just surprised by the question and unsure how to accurately answer.

Last edited: Sep 26, 2021
  7. guitar_paul1

guitar_paul1 Tele-Holic

Who cares if it's broken in?
    You bought it used, too, for crying out loud.