Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Yamaha THR10 volume control...

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by outsidetown, Aug 18, 2017.

1. outsidetown

outsidetown TDPRI Member

Aug 17, 2017
    UK
    Hey all, I'm pretty new to guitar, amps and tone fiddling, and have a MIM tele and a THR10. It's a dream of a combination, but I'm trying to get to grips with how the amp actually works.

I generally need to keep volume quite low, and usually I stick the Master Volume right up and use the Guitar Output dial to tame the volume. I'm wondering if this is the most effective way of doing it - should it be the other way round?

While I'm at it, does anyone have any nice settings or presets to share? I'm really into blues but haven't got the know how to start messing with the software yet, I end up just turning everything on to maximum haha.

2. Nickadermis

Nickadermis Tele-Meister Ad Free + Supporter

Dec 18, 2016
    Camden Point, MO
    I am probably completely wrong.

But for me the Guitar output knob acts like a Master volume and the Gain and Volume are more like the volume knob..

I usually set the Gain and Volume to get the desired distortion and use the Guitar knob to set the volume.

You really need to twiddle all of the knobs. Especially the TMB knobs, the darn thing can sound like about any type of amp you want if you do. The one caveat is that I have to set it up very differently with different pickups to get similar sounds.

Get comfortable turning those TMB knobs and listening to what it does !

3. Cliffyg62

Cliffyg62 Tele-Meister

Aug 16, 2015
    West Berlin, nj
    Watch one thing i didn't understand. Each amp model acts like the real amp bring modeled. The knobs act differently on each one except the master. Try the modern one emulating a mesa at anout 8:45 , sweet tone there.