Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Wow, meet the $2,000 Squier Tele!

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by ScottJPatrick, Jan 23, 2017.

1. ScottJPatrick

ScottJPatrick Tele-Afflicted

May 12, 2011
    Stirling, Scotland.
    rghill and CFFF like this.

2. backporchmusic

backporchmusic Friend of Leo's

Nov 28, 2006
    USA
    Hey...someone drank ALL the Kool-aid...

3. Steve Holt

Steve Holt Tele-Holic

May 29, 2016
    Kansas
    Sorry I'm not an expert on vintage squiers, but what's the deal on this? Did someone get taken or are the old ones really that valuable?

4. Asmith

Asmith Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

Nov 27, 2014
    Morley, England
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, basically back in the day when they first started making fender/squier guitars in japan they made the bodies and necks and did a superb job of it and then the hardware and the electronics back then were identical to what was found on their american equivalents. Put the great quality guitar, a fender headstock decal and rarity together and you have a valuable and collectable guitar. I'd probably say it's difficult to put a price on scarce items because they don't go up for sale very often so it's difficult to get a good average, who knows if the bidding ended a day later someone could have wanted it more than what it sold for.

Steve Holt likes this.

5. Anode100

Anode100 Friend of Leo's

May 9, 2014
    Behind my beard.
    The Japanese Squiers can be pricey - my local shop has one in for roughly £800 - I know the owner pretty well, and that seems to be the honest price for them.

6. ScottJPatrick

ScottJPatrick Tele-Afflicted

May 12, 2011
    Stirling, Scotland.