Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Wiring diagram wanted - series, PTB, one DPDT switch, 5-way

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by harryson, Mar 6, 2018.

1. harryson

harryson TDPRI Member

Mar 5, 2018
    British Columbia
    Hi Everyone,

I'd like some help (and I hope I'm going about this correctly) wiring a Nashville-type 3 single pup Tele in a way I haven't seen posted yet. I'm a relative NOOB but I'm done a little woodwork and a bit of soldering over the years.

I'd like to use Phostenix' (as seen on his Phostenix Wiring Diagrams - Google Sites pages) "strat-o-tele fat tele PP" idea which has series combinations BxM, NxM in positions 1 and 5, and B+N parallel in position 3. As most of you probably know Phostenix' drawings are no longer available on the net. (Unless someone managed to hang on to a copy?)

I'd like to use 50s wiring on the single tone control, but if everything works out as well as I hope then I'd like to use the same scheme on a standard strat but incorporate Leo's PTB circuit for tone controls.

I'm hoping this can be done as Phostenix originally described with the standard strat 5-way switch and one DPDT on/on switch. I can follow a drawing well enough, but I get almost dyslexic with schematics. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

2. moosie

moosie Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Jul 18, 2010
    Western Connecticut
    You stated what positions 1,3,5 do. What about 2 & 4? What does the DPDT do?

3. harryson

harryson TDPRI Member

Mar 5, 2018
    British Columbia
    Ah, sorry - my bad. According to Phostenix' original description on his Google Sites page the layout goes like this:

Push-Pull Down (Normal Strat):

1. Bridge
    2. Middle & Bridge
    3. Middle