Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Why Nitro?

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by 04renostar, Dec 7, 2009.

1. 04renostar

04renostar TDPRI Member

Nov 25, 2009
    Reno Nevada
    Just curious, but why do most people use Nitro for painting & finishing guitars? I'm getting ready to start my first Tele project & I was at a local paint supply shop to look at what they had to offer. While I was there the sales guy asked me "why does everyone want Nitrocellulose when building or refinishing a guitar?" I'm new at this and I didn't have a good answer for him. I just said that I was looking for nitro products as thats what everyone seams to be using.

SO! I'm assuming you folks here know the answer to this & I sure could use the education.

thanks,

2. Hackguitarist

Hackguitarist Tele-Holic

Mar 26, 2009
    Kerfuffle
    Because it will kill you much slower than imron ??

OR

Because it lets the wood breathe and sounds better than everything else ?? [​IMG]

3. JosephB

JosephB Tele-Afflicted

Nov 18, 2007
    Auburn, Alabama
    it also ages a lot better...but thats a matter of preference, not function.

4. woodman

woodman Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free + Supporter

Nov 28, 2004
    Mint Hill, NC
    Because that's how Leo did it! (joke! joke!)

5. Hackguitarist

Hackguitarist Tele-Holic

Mar 26, 2009
    Kerfuffle
    Lack of UV protection as compared to more modern finishes does allow the wood to age and the natural patina out on transparent finishes. I spray with it so far because it is so easy to work with. Not to mention folks that wind up with my stuf like nitro beif Leo did it. ;)

6. 07 road house

07 road house Tele-Holic

Apr 17, 2009
    Dallas