Why everybody so afraid of volume !!?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by bftfender, Jan 10, 2019.

1. bftfender

bftfender Friend of Leo's

Just baffles me. go a concert..and request them to turn it down to bedroom-talking levels///go to a sporting event go..shhhh...be quiet.....go to a dance and say its too loud..what the heck is going on..ya killing the very essence of rock music by playing at a whisper level and expecting ...uh..crunch..thump and sustaining leads ..aint happening...who will dance...headbang..groove and jive at a level that physically doesn't move you ..its the beat...it hits you in the chest and you move..but then...turn it up !! you will be surprised how people react...like when the bad cover band opens up for a national act and its low and no one cares..then..wham..volume up and like a magnet to the stage

2. Boubou

Boubou Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter

What???

3. DuckDodgers

DuckDodgers Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

Because I worked in a lab researching hearing loss in the 1980s, and I’ve seen how devastating hearing loss and severe tinnitus can be- especially for musicians. I’m amazed how often I see people enjoying music that’s so loud that I have to wear earplugs. If you aren’t bothered by music that causes some people pain, you already have severe and irrecoverable hearing loss, and it’s going to get worse.

In 1969 I saw Bubble Puppy, Spirit, and Canned Heat in concert in Detroit. I remember that Spirit was using medium sized Fender amps, and Canned Heat had a wall of Sunn amps, I think. They were painfully loud. I still remember everything Spirit played that night, and nothing about Canned Heat except that they were too damned loud.

4. Peregrino69

Peregrino69 Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

5. bftfender

talking about the bedroom level..not normal gigging level and the justification to do gigs a low levels and chase people away

6. Chunkocaster

Chunkocaster Friend of Leo's

Many people are delicate flowers these days.