Why dont more amps have "this"

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by grim83, Apr 15, 2018.

  1. telemnemonics

    telemnemonics Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    14,085
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    Maine
    Reverb and tremolo be damned what I miss in most amps is great sound!
     
    24 track likes this.
  2. CK Dexter Haven

    CK Dexter Haven Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    2,958
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Location:
    GCDB
    But what would I do with all my old paper back books?
     
  3. kafka

    kafka Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    980
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Location:
    Maryland
    Call me a traditionalist, but I feel every amp should come with a coiled cord, 3 sets of guitar strings, and a handful of peppermint after-dinner mints.
     
    badger51 and naneek like this.
  4. noah330

    noah330 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,670
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    I like the Brown trem as well. Only petal I've ever had that nails it is a Fuchs Creme de la Trem but mine broke for the second time. What are you using?

    As for the 9v out, the coolest idea for this I've seen was from Fuchs as well. They offer a TRS connection from the map that carries power. Only their petals accept it, but others can be modified IIRC.

    Kind of a late idea but still neat.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
    Obsessed likes this.
  5. Obsessed

    Obsessed Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    19,308
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Montana
    I almost bought that pedal. There are actually two different kinds of Fender bias trem. The Fuchs is the powertube bias emulation and what I have is what I believe is the preamp bias emulation. There is not much difference to my ears, but the Swamp Thang and the Sugar Baby would probably be closer to the Fuchs. I have the VFE Old School. It has so many adjustment possibilities, I doubt you would be disappointed and probably covers Brownface territory. I have even found a setting that I use just to add a lush thickness to my sound without it actually doing tremolo.
     
  6. ndcaster

    ndcaster Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    6,885
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
    +500
     
    a_pidgeon and Mincer like this.
  7. noah330

    noah330 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,670
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    Now I just use a Demeter. It sounds fine. When I want the bias sound (mostly for recording) I just plug into my Gretsch 6160 or old brown maps. I have an original Vibroverb, Bandmaster and Concert.
     
  8. dirtguitar

    dirtguitar TDPRI Member

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Location:
    US
    Accurate tuner!
     
  9. cactusrob

    cactusrob Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,371
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Georgia
    Why don't the heavy ones come with a roadie to tote it for me??

    And +1 on the pine cabinets.
     
  10. Larry F

    Larry F Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Posts:
    15,853
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    For me, trem is just something that I don't care to use. My thinking about it is that it is such a highly specific sound that promotes the feel of early rock and early surf. I'm sure I could find a few ways of using it in my blues trio, but my health is getting in the way of my dreams and plans.

    The obvious solution to lugging a larger amp around, if, course, a pedal. I haven't played one in a while, but I remember that it was a pretty useable sound.

    But nothing beats the impact of a twin reverb with JBLs, with tremolo on max depth. Stand in the right position in from of the amp, and you'll feel the pulse take over your nervous system.
     
    W.L.Weller, homesick345 and cactusrob like this.
  11. uriah1

    uriah1 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    19,227
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Around
    Never really used trem a whole lot since my grade school days and Crimson and clover.
    Maybe I should revisit. Most of my amps have, but, I keep off.
     
  12. LeicaBoss

    LeicaBoss Tele-Meister Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    465
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Location:
    New Jersey
    The beauty of the bias trem in my amp is how it has almost a ducking / dynamic control aspect to it. When I dig in and hit it hard, it gets out of the way then bounces back.

    It affects the way the amp breaks up in a wonderful and musical way and gives a little motion to the sound even when dialed way back.

    I couldn't really imagine it not being part of the amp.

    There are lots if nice trem pedals, but nothing like this.
     
  13. W.L.Weller

    W.L.Weller Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    Queens
    My favorite feature of the Yamaha G-100 II is the parametric EQ. If I ever buy an EQ pedal, it’s going to be a parametric.
     
    Mincer likes this.
  14. jorbjorb

    jorbjorb Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    I never use the tremelo function on my DRRI because I'm too lazy to plug in the footswitch that enables this function. Why couldn't it just be a button on the panel?
     
  15. grim83

    grim83 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    486
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Location:
    alabamy
    I will say i messed with a joyo trem and it was very usable especially for so cheap, my problem is i just dont care to use pedals i like what few effects i use to be on the amp. To that effect i unfortunately have not been able to get on with modelers yet so im still in tube land.
     
  16. cactusrob

    cactusrob Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,371
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Georgia
    It probably used to be until somebody said "Why can't there be a footswitch? "
    Lol
     
  17. a_pidgeon

    a_pidgeon Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    I'll throw in another vote for parametric EQ, as well as pre- and post-gain EQ.

    That said, if I owned an amp with parametric pre- and post-gain EQ, I might well spend the rest of my life playing with knobs instead of guitars...
     
  18. beyer160

    beyer160 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,239
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    On Location
    A lid that comes off with four bolts, revealing the circuit board. Makes adjustments/mods/repairs a LOT easier than pulling the chassis. Pete Traynor figured this out 40-some years ago, why didn't it catch on?
    IMG_4643 (2).jpg
     
    Fearnot and RoyBGood like this.
  19. schmee

    schmee Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,543
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    I would have no use for it. My pedals are far from my amp.
     
    OneHenry likes this.
  20. WireLine

    WireLine Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    1,109
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Midland TX
    Just a thought, but it seems like nearly all the comments thus far are describing BF or early SF Fenders, either as in or with a bit of modification. Pine cabs, trem, etc...
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.