Who has a drum (thickness) sander? Is it worth buying?

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by Stefanovich, Jun 18, 2019.

1. Stefanovich

Stefanovich Tele-Holic

So... after reading many warnings about how guitar building leads to ridiculous tool purchases, I am beginning to experience the reality.

For some context, I have yet to build a guitar from scratch. I assembled a partscaster (body and neck were unfinished) and ukulele kit from Stewmac. I have done several refrets, have rebraced a couple of old Gibson acoustics, and replaced a broken truss rod in a strat copy. In short, I am a beginner, but not a rank beginner. My current project is building a neck from scratch to put on a body I found in the garbage. I have also purchased the wood to build an acoustic guitar. The quality of my work is OK, but not great. When I see truly skilled luthiery I know that is way above what I can currently do, likewise when I see a hack job, I know I can do better.

The drum sander in question is a used Performax (now Jet) 16-32 drum sander. It is in the local classifieds for $650 CAD. I think a drum sander would be super handy for milling my back and sides for the acoustic. I tried hand planing, but am scared of tearout. I have used a friend's Rigid planer and it works ok, but there is some snipe and tearout on birdseye maple.

What is holding me back from the purchase is cost. I am not a wealthy (or even middle-class) person. I have scored some stellar deals on used tools such that my total investment in tools is very low. My most expensive tool is a Rigid 14" bandsaw that I got for $125. Thus, $650 is a significant step up in cost. However, used drum sanders don't come up for sale often, and I cannot find anyone who owns one.

So... who owns one and is it worth the investment?

2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter