Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

what Squier periods are good?

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by plymman, Mar 28, 2013.

1. plymman

plymman Tele-Meister

Dec 6, 2011
    plymouth uk
    20 odd years ago when I started playing bass I remember Squier being a bit of a laughing stock, they were terrible and I never played a good one.

In the last couple of years I've had VM and CV's, both models are excellent and it got me interested in Squier again. I know the early Japanese JV's are sought after, as are some of the Korean pro tones but what other discontinued Squier's are worth having? Are the later Japanese ones from the early to mid 90's any good? Where and when we're the generally crappy ones made?

Basically which old Squier's are gems and which ones wouldn't you touch with a barge pole?

2. sir humphrey

sir humphrey Friend of Leo's

May 3, 2011
    Bristol
    Squiers were never terrible - but they had good periods (and models) and not so good. The first Squiers from Japan are pretty good, but not as good as they are made out - basically they were of similar quality to current Squiers at a time when most budget guitars were truly awful, which made them stand out at the time and the legend has got kind of inflated from "surprisingly good for a cheap guitar" to "sought after classic" over the years.

The current CVs are similarly "suprisingly good for the price" - and bearing in mind that even cheap guitars now are as good or better than top end Fenders from the 70s, that means they are very good guitars.

Most Squiers, even the worst ones, only ever needed the electronics switching out, a pro set up and new pickups to make them decent. CV's don't even need that (apart from the set up). Early Japanese need new pickups, but the build quality is good.