Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

What Goes Wrong on Roland Cube 20GX

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by Ryan Aditantra, May 15, 2017.

1. Ryan Aditantra

Ryan Aditantra TDPRI Member

May 15, 2017
    Jakarta
    Hi all,

I am relatively new in this electric guitar world. Although I started jamming on band since I was 12 y.o, I just had my first electric guitar as a wedding present from my colleague back in 2014. Having new electric guitar, I brought myself to music shop to buy amp. I knew nothing bout electric guitar and gear, but my choice that time (considering budget) was Roland Cube 20GX (shopkeeper suggested this). I found it a great choice as my (well-knowleged) friend said it was ok. My guitar at the moment was Samick Semi-Hollow Body RL-3. I played top 40s, and pop-jazz song.

Starting journey on electric guitar, I found that I was interested in crunchy, twangy, and bluesy sound as Telecaster produces. Then I decided to buy Squier Telecaster Standard Series. It felt good. I got my character on that. Till finally, I bought Fender Telecaster American Standard. But still, using Roland Cube 20GX.

Lately, I am doing so many (youtube) research on sound, tone, gear, etc, and frequently perform for my office's occasion. As time goes buy, I lay myself on classic, twangy, bluesy, and dry sound. I love it. The problem is, I see that my Roland Cube 20GX does not support my needs anymore on those sounds. My questions are:

1) Is it Roland Cube 20gx that doesn't properly support clean tone for crunchy, bluesy, dry sounds?
    2) Or is it because I need bigger speaker, may be I need to go with Roland Cube 40GX?
    3) Or I totally need to change my amp to support my need?