Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

What delay should I get?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by KyleS, Sep 11, 2017.

1. KyleS

KyleS TDPRI Member

Apr 7, 2017
    Australia
    Hi all! I'm relatively new to pedals, the modulation side of things anyway, I'm a big fan of fuzz and overdrive so I'm good there. But delay wise I'm looking to purchase a good analog tape delay, I would love to get the carbon copy by MXR but I don't want to copy my dad hehe, could anybody recommend a good delay roughly around the same price? Thanks!

2. Nick Fanis

Nick Fanis Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

Mar 3, 2003
    Athens-GREECE
    The CC is not an analog tape delay,it is a bucket brigade analog delay.

An analog tape delay will cost you a fortune and will be heavy,difficult to use live and unreliable (if it is an old one).

One of the best delays ever built,reliable,tap tempo,analog ,1000 MS of delay time,oscillation & modulation controls ( and relatively cheap too ) is this one,I highly recommend it

Last edited: Sep 11, 2017
    ukepicker likes this.

3. ukepicker

ukepicker Tele-Holic

Oct 15, 2013
    East Texas
    Hi Kyle - you're in luck! The TPS guys just did a show on analog delays Friday. They seemed to favor the Vapor Trail and a Moog delay.

If it's analog delay you're after, the carbon copy is great. And everywhere for great prices. The Vapor Trail was made to directly compete with it. However, MXR has released a "carbon copy deluxe" pedal which, among other upgrades, has extended delay times, tap tempo and subdivisions. They are supposed to start shipping next month, if you have the patience to wait for it.