What are some “easy” jazz standards?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by play_loud, Nov 15, 2008.

1. play_loud

play_loud Tele-Meister

First off I realise the words "easy" and "jazz" probably don’t belong in the same sentence (learning jazz guitar has for me been like learning to play the guitar all over again!). :lol: But here's where i'm at... I've been playing guitar seriously for over 3 years and I now want to take the giant leap out of the realms of rock n roll, blues and country.. into jazz! I've always been a fan from afar but have really only started to get into jazz seriously recently, so my jazz knowledge at this point is obviously not extensive.

I also of course understand that you can’t expect to be able to play a certain genre with having first listened to a substantial amount of it so that is taking up quite abit of my leisure time lately.

My question is this, could anyone recommend some "easy" jazz standards that would augment my current studies (I am self-taught in case you are wondering), as I am slowly getting confident with the basics but would also love to put my new found knowledge into practise. Where I could locate the sheet music (preferably tab, I can read notation but slowly) for these would also be greatly appreciated.

On another note if anyone could recommend where I could find some decent, free jazz backing tracks that would also be of immense help!

Thanks a bunch,

Chris.

p.s: anyone else taught themselves how to play jazz or am I idiotic for thinking I could do so (its worked for me so far with other genres)?

2. sacizob

sacizob Friend of Leo's

My signature is a place to start.

3. play_loud

play_loud Tele-Meister

Hahaha thanks sacizob that is hilarious.

4. jazzbender

jazzbender Tele-Meister