Voice Of Music 8810 amp

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by bryant234575, May 24, 2019.

  1. bryant234575

    bryant234575 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Location:
    Muscle-shoals AL
    Just bought a Voice Of Music 8810 amp it makes no sound tubes do not glow at all. I do not see a fuse that could be blown. Is there anything simple it could be?
     
  2. rangercaster

    rangercaster Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,582
    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    portland, or
    Start simple ... Is the power cord good ? Speaker connection ?? Tubes visual ...are they black or cloudy??? , check the pins for corrosion or misalignment ... That's the simplest ...
     
  3. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    31,492
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Tech time. The amp should have been brought up slowly on a Variac. Regardless, at this point one simply begins a rebuild by assessing the transformers. It is a given that the filter caps need to be replaced. IMHO, current should not be applied until proper tech work has been done.
     
  4. bryant234575

    bryant234575 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Location:
    Muscle-shoals AL
    What could I have potentially damaged by not using a variac?
     
  5. bryant234575

    bryant234575 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Location:
    Muscle-shoals AL
    nybody know what voltages I could expect to see on the outputs of the transformer?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. muswell_hillbilly

    muswell_hillbilly Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI
    It'll vary a bit depending on your line voltage, but nominally, you should measure 630 VAC red-red, 6.3 VAC green-green, and although not stated, I'm going to guess 5 VAC yellow-yellow.
     
  7. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    31,492
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    440VDC give or take on pin 7 of that rectifier??? It is my practice to replace all electrolytics and then fire the amp up on a current limiter. If there is no short indicated, then one can go to wall voltage. That is when you can find out what you have there. IMHO, working on an amp that old without first establishing fresh power supply and bias caps is futile.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2019
    muscmp likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.