Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

vintage vs modern wiring

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Beatlefreek, Nov 23, 2010.

1. Beatlefreek

Beatlefreek TDPRI Member

Oct 10, 2010
    Maple Ridge, BC
    'scuse muh ignernce ... but I'm new to the whole tele thang, and I came across another post that mentioned the difference between vintage and modern wiring ... without actually explaining what that difference is.

So ... could somebody please enlighten me. What is the difference between these two kinds of wiring and what effect do they have on how the pick-up selector/tone controls work ... and, I suppose, the relative pros and cons of each?

Thanks in advance.

2. Mark Davis

Mark Davis Telefied

Mar 2, 2003
    Bakersfield Ca.
    Vintage wiring.

Switch all the way up neck pickup plays with no tone control and the signal goes thru some resistors and caps to make a sorta Bassy muffled sound.

Switch in the middle neck pickup plays with tone control.

Switch all the way back bridge pickup plays with tone control.

Modern

Switch all the way up neck pickup plays with tone control

Switch in the middle both pickups play at once with tone control

Switch all the way back bridge pickup plays with tone control

3. johnnytronics

johnnytronics Tele-Holic

Feb 20, 2006
    Big Apple, NYC
    Vintage = bad
    Modern = good

4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. sonserve

sonserve Friend of Leo's

Bf,
    Mark Davis really knows this Tele stuff. So there you go. If you ever want to modify the wiring on your guitar you can do a seach here or go to any number of pick up manufacturers web sights.