Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Update-Pros Cons Tips of Mustang GT (40) "Clear the Air"

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by burntfrijoles, May 20, 2017.

1. burntfrijoles

burntfrijoles Friend of Leo's

Feb 12, 2010
    Jacksonville
    After two weeks I’m all in on the GT40. It's not an expensive amp so it has its limitations. You shouldn't expect a high end device. That said, it's pretty darn good.

I am no pro at creating tones. It takes some patience and trial and error at first as there is a slight learning curve. It’s not about the user interface on the amp or the App. They are easy and intuitive IMO. It’s about all the amp models, speaker cabs and parameters and getting to know them. There are a lot of the possibilities.

The things I like:
    1. the bluetooth streaming of music and backing tracks. The bluetooth is excellent. I stream from youtube, a "slow down" app or my music library without problem and the stereo configuration yields excellent quality. It’s a 2 x 20 stereo amp configuration.
    2. the ease of using the App (speaking of iOS only as i hear Android has some issues) It makes it easier to edit patches and download patches etc. Plus, not having to connect it to a Laptop or Desktop. It’s one less cable and inconvenience.
    3. The clean and "edge of breakup" tones that are readily available.
    4. The endless ability to tweak a setting to achieve a desired sound. I think you can find or create almost any artist you can think of.
    5. the potential of downloading excellent presets created by artists and the online community.
    The things I don't like:
    1. many of the default presets are “not all that and a bag of chips” (but don’t judge the amp by what you get out of the box)