Tubes do dirt, transistors stay clean ...

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by nosuch, May 17, 2019.

1. nosuch

nosuch Friend of Leo's

That's what I learned when I started playing electric guitar in the 80s. Though tube screamers and muffs where there already everybody seems to chase for tube amps if they wanted dirty tone while the pop, jazz and funk players wanted to have a jazz chorus 120.

Today it seems to be the other way round: tube amps are marketed as "clean platforms" and solid state pedals do the dirt – mostly based on the ts or similar. What happened?

2. Nick Fanis

Nick Fanis Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

People stopped drinking "tube amps only sound good at 10 and distorted" cool aid.

There is nothing more beautiful than the CLEAN tone of a good tube amp.

Personally I never liked the Roland Jazz Chorus clean tone especially with a Fender guitar.

BTW the pedals + clean amp recipe has been around for at least three decades ,where have you been all this time?

jhundt and DrPepper like this.
  3. uriah1

uriah1 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Marketing

Solid state = always Jazz
    Tube = Always, always, rock and roll (forget who said quote)

Curmudgeon

4. Norris Vulcan

Norris Vulcan Tele-Holic

I play a hand-wired AC30 for it's amazing clean sounds.
    I find it odd that all the "AC30 In A Box" pedals are modelled on breakup or mild distortion sounds. That's missing so much of the amp's goodness.

USian Pie likes this.
  5. Digital Larry

Digital Larry Tele-Afflicted

The tubes vs transistor debate triggers all sorts of thoughts for me. Keep in mind my background is as an electrical engineer, who learned a lot about transistors in college, and even though my textbook had a section on tubes, we did not cover that. I've reviewed it recently and very little of what guitar amp owners consider to be the beneficial attributes of tubes (soft clipping, power supply sag) are covered.