Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Trying to figure out right amp to speaker watts and ohms...

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Mahinavai, Dec 7, 2018.

1. Mahinavai

Mahinavai NEW MEMBER!

Dec 6, 2018
    Santiago, Chile
    I need help with this... I'm looking at an amp that is 135 watts with 6 ohms resistance. The speakers have a nominal resistance of 4-8 ohms and can handle up to 140 watts (rms) of power. I've calculated that it is 202 watts at 4 ohms and 101 watts at 8 ohms, but I'm not sure what that means. Is the amp ok for the speakers or will it blow them out? Thanks if you can help with this. Yes, newbie here...

2. Phrygian77

Phrygian77 Tele-Afflicted

Apr 30, 2016
    Crawfordville, FL
    Your post is lacking information. What is the amp? What are the speakers? Your speakers should be about twice the RMS power level of the amp if you're going to crank/overdrive the amp regularly. At 135 watts, I'm guessing not, so you can probably get away with a lesser power rating on the speakers, closer to the RMS rating.

Mahinavai and Tonetele like this.
  3. Blue Bill

Blue Bill Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

Feb 15, 2014
    Maine
    Yeah, you said the speakers have a resistance of 4-8 ohms. Usually resistance is stated as a single number, not a range; either 4 ohms or 8 ohms is typical. A hundred watts is a lot, for most speakers. Some amps are rated by peak power, some are rated by RMS power, which is somewhere around 70% of peak power. I'm just guessing; it sounds like this is a 100 WRMS amp. The make and model of the amp and speakers would help answer your question.