Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Troubleshooting my Imperial Lead Channel (tube?)

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by adamajah, May 15, 2018.

1. adamajah

adamajah TDPRI Member

Nov 12, 2015
    out west
    I recently got a 20th Anniv. Tone King Imperial and love the heck out of it.

The other night the Lead channel started cutting out when I had the Volume past 4 or so and laid into some loud chords. The Rhythm channel is fine - it's just when I switch to the Lead channel and strike a chord the volume drops dramatically all of the sudden.

I'm guessing the problem is a bad preamp tube for the Lead channel, but could use some advice on where to start troubleshooting.

I don't see any obvious red-plating, but I'm no expert.

2. corliss1

corliss1 Friend of Leo's

Sep 13, 2008
    Lansing, MI
    Try swapping a preamp tube. It's the easiest thing to do. I don't have a schematic, and the only ones I found online were obviously copies and nothing official. You may want to email them and see if they'll send you one.

If a tube swap doesn't do it, getting hit hard with a big chord could be a problem due to vibration, and you may need to take it to a tech.

3. Dacious

Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

Mar 16, 2003
    Godzone
    Usually a preamp tube when one channel is good . V1 V2 both according to the manual (tubes to your left viewed from the front farthest from the power tubes) are the rythym and lead gain stages. That means either could have a bad triode but it may be V1b as that is used by lead channel only.

One new $10 12AX7 could prove it out, then you just need one of whatever they use.