Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Tom Rush - tell us what you know

Discussion in 'Music to Your Ears' started by boris bubbanov, Sep 20, 2017.

1. boris bubbanov

boris bubbanov Telefied Ad Free Member

Urge for Going is just such a monster song.

I feel like this man got to keep his life intact, and avoided all the degradation of the Hustle.

But I don't know much - tell me what you know.

2. Flyinlow

Flyinlow Tele-Meister

Feb 9, 2017
    NE Indiana
    I'm no expert, but the better of my Folk music friends regard him as a GOD. Like Prine, Dylan, Paxton.

boris bubbanov likes this.

3. rjtwangs

rjtwangs Tele-Holic Ad Free Member

Jan 18, 2010
    Reston, Virginia
    Yes, Tom Rush should be a household name! It was Rush that introduced me to the likes of Joni Mitchell and Jackson Brown, and when I first began performing in public, during my college days at Kent State, it was part of a duo and we did at least 10 songs learned from Tom Rush records! My two favorites were the old folk song " Joshua Gone Barbados " and the Jackson Brown standard " These Days " ....and in some parts he is recognized as a God, Boston and the rest of New England....he is very much worth discovering if you don't know him....ymmv....

RJ

Last edited: Sep 21, 2017
    Jim W and xafinity like this.

4. Bob M

Bob M Tele-Holic

May 11, 2011
    North of Boston
    He was certainly a "God" in the Boston area and played there a lot. I remember seeing him at the old Park Street Under venue in '67, '68. He had a bass player and electric guitarist with him. He did all his big songs plus some surprising numbers-"Who Do You Love", "Circle Game"...Thing I remember most was him changing a guitar string in the most casual manner while talking to the audience. We stayed through 2 sets. I need to get some of his old stuff into my play rotation.