Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Thoughts on Triple Teles?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Txncharley, Sep 29, 2017.

1. Txncharley

Txncharley NEW MEMBER!

Sep 24, 2017
    Texas
    Howdy, I am about to buy my first telecaster, and I found this nice black Tele with 3 single coil pickups. Kind of unusual I thought, but she felt good in my hands!
    I recently started playing again after a long hiatus, and play blues, classic rock type music, and I like a guitar that does everything except shred and modern heavy metal. (I am 55 yrs old) Like that punchy, overdriven sound of Kieth Richards.
    I was able to plug it in and quietly play it for a few minutes, and it sounds good from what I can tell. Before I go back and completely fall in love, I like to know the group's thoughts on Triple Teles, or whatever they are called. Help?

Tim S likes this.

2. unixfish

unixfish Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free + Supporter

Apr 20, 2013
    Northeast Ohio, USA
    Well - there is an official "Triple Tele" that has three pickups, all at a slant.

There is also the "Nashville Telecaster" that has three pickups, but only the bridge one is slanted.

Lots of people like the Nashville - it's a decent choice with a few "extra options" above a "regular" Telecaster.

You may want to check out a regular, two pickup Tele?

The Triple Tele was a custom one-off, limited run.

Triple Tele:
    [​IMG]

Nashville Telecaster:

[​IMG]

teletimetx and shupe13 like this.

3. unixfish

unixfish Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free + Supporter

Apr 20, 2013
    Northeast Ohio, USA
    Oh! And welcome to the site!

4. Tim S

Tim S Tele-Meister

Oct 27, 2008
    Upstate NY
    TheBadHombre and Minimalist518 like this.

5. nojazzhere

nojazzhere Tele-Afflicted

Feb 3, 2017
    Foat Wuth, Texas