Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

The S-1 switch

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Big_Bend, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. Big_Bend

    Big_Bend Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    5,243
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    My friend has a new American Deluxe tele with the S-1 switching system which I think is way cool. Can I add that to my tele and strat or is it only available from Fender in their new guitars?

    thx.. Allen
     
  2. musicalmartin

    musicalmartin Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    68
    Posts:
    5,645
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk UK
    Various ebay shops sell a ripped out Baja S-1 system for tele or the strat version from time to time which can just replace the whole control plate .You need a new knob as well if its not included.I was going to buy a loaded control plate but bought a whole Baja instead :D.You can also buy the s-1 pot to replace you ordinary volume pot but again you need the s-1 knob as well .I love my S-1 turned on four way .it gives a great overdrive sound but it will of course depend on your pickups .
     
  3. yegbert

    yegbert Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,106
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland (US)
    At one point it was only available in a new guitar, or as a service replacement only available to someone who owned a guitar that had one in it already. But it is now available from Fender dealers for anyone to buy.

    There are variants for Strats that are different than those for Teles, and made in 250k and 500k versions. Darren Riley has four different ones, the 500k that is not listed as for a Strat is possibly for a Tele, but it has a longer thread and bushing.

    250k S-1 switch for Tele
    chrome knob for Tele S-1
    gold knob for Tele S-1

    My local Fender dealer had a Tele S-1 switch in stock and I bought it, and ordered the knob. There is an additional part needed to fit the knob that he said I needed and I ordered that too with the knob. Not sure whether Darren Riley's package switch includes that other part. I'll follow up on this post when I get all my parts.
     
  4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

  5. mellecaster

    mellecaster Former Member

    Posts:
    13,637
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Desperadoville..USA
    Here are some of the "Innards" from a stock Baja w/ the S1

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Starrman44

    Starrman44 Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    North Dakota
    I just wish that they sold replacement knobs that were more heavily knurled and beefier feeling.

    The Baja S-1 feels a little feeble. I love the S-1 options, and I really don't want to go to a push/pull...
     
  7. KokoTele

    KokoTele <img src="http://www.tdpri.com/gifs/vendor.png" /> Vendor Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    13,524
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    albany, ny [not chicago]
    FWIW, I find a push/pull knob easier to operate than that little button in the middle of the volume knob. That was kind of a pain.

    I also found that the S1 assembly is a tone-suck. My Baja opened right up after replacing the S1 with a standard volume pot.
     
  8. Colt W. Knight

    Colt W. Knight Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    18,882
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I am not a fan of s-1. A push/pull pot is the way to go!
     
  9. WilburBufferson

    WilburBufferson Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,247
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    Dear Telemeisers: Can anyone tell me how to remove the knob? I took out the little screw, but the knob won't pop off like usual. I don't want to force it off. Is there something I can't see under the knob that is preventing this from happening? Thanks.
     
  10. julesyoung

    julesyoung Tele-Meister

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    alnwick uk
    can be a tight fit , espacially the plastic ones on strats etc....i use a wooden clothes peg separated into the two halves and ease the nob up gently inserting beneath from side to side ( harder to explain than actually do )
     
  11. drf64

    drf64 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,282
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Ada, MI
    I've modded two of my strats to have the neck/bridge and all in series pickup combos with the push pull pot on the volume control. I really like it. Neck/bridge is twangy like a tele and all pickups together is super hollow for a nice rythm tone.

    dan
     
  12. KokoTele

    KokoTele <img src="http://www.tdpri.com/gifs/vendor.png" /> Vendor Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    13,524
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    albany, ny [not chicago]
    Wilbur, gentle force is what you need to get that knob off.

    The center button has a peg that is a press fit into a plastic sleeve in the center of the shaft.

    The outer knob has a set screw like a normal knob, but you need to back it out most of the way because the shaft is flared.

    What I do is loosen the set screw and then pull up on the knob, which will pull out the center button.
     
  13. WilburBufferson

    WilburBufferson Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,247
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    Gentle force applied, and it worked! Thank you KokoTele. (I tried to reverse the control plate and move the knobs around, but once I took it apart I realized that I needed some longer wire and re-soldering, so I gave up! -- for now.)
     
  14. jefrs

    jefrs Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,306
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Newbury, England
    The S-1 is a 4-pole 2-way, but a push-pull is 2-pole 2-way. On the Baja, a third pole is used to add in a 'tone' capacitor, this may perhaps be perceived as tone-suck.
     
  15. Bud Veazey

    Bud Veazey Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    740
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Lawrenceville, GA
    The S-1 switch on a Tele is an overkill method of achieving the 4-Way "Merle Haggard" mod. I have installed the S-1 switch and I have installed a 4-way selector switch to accomplish the in-series connection of the neck and bridge pickups. From a builder's standpoint I think the 4-way selector switch is a much better solution. (The 4th position connects the neck and bridge pickups in series for a rounder, humbucker-like tone than the normal parallel connection.)
     
  16. KokoTele

    KokoTele <img src="http://www.tdpri.com/gifs/vendor.png" /> Vendor Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    13,524
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    albany, ny [not chicago]
    The switch itself is the tone-suck. Even when that cap isn't engaged, there is a noticeable loss of tone, as evidenced by the guitar sounding like it had a wet blanket removed when the S1 switch was removed.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Share This Page