The 8th Pedal. What? Why?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Rich_S, May 17, 2019.

1. Rich_S

Rich_S Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

I started my present pedalboard back in the '80s with five pedals, all Boss: CE-2, BF-2, a pair of DD-3s, and a GE-7 for a lead boost. When I started playing again in the 2000's, the Intarwebz' bad influence got me interested in more pedals. I added a second level and more pedals. I got up to seven and ran out of room. Then I swapped in a couple of mini-pedals to make room to squish one more in there. (Although I must admit I bought the Phase 95 NOT because it's a mini-pedal, but because it's awesome.)

So now I'm up to eight pedals, not counting the tuner: DIY Stratoblaster clone, BB Preamp, Phase 95, CE-3 chorus, BF-2 flanger, Grand Canyon delay, TR-2 tremolo, and... THE 8TH PEDAL.

For a long time, it's been my DIY paisley Rat clone. I really love the Rat, but any time I needed dirt, I found I preferred the BB Preamp, so the Rat was going unused. Recently, I was digging the sounds Warren Cuccurullo got in Missing Persons with his Foxx Tone Machine, so I swapped out the Rat for an MXR La Machine. If I'm not using the Rat, might as well replace it with something really outrageous that's nowhere near BB territory, right? Wrong. La Machine, while a great pedal, just doesn't fit in with the rest of the board.

Then I was testing out my island of misfit toys board, where I recently stuck a bunch of things that didn't make the cut on the main board. I played a couple songs through the MXR Custom Comp and LOVED it. Maybe the Custom Comp should be on the main board!?! Maybe I have all the boost/dirt I need and a compressor is the flavor that's missing.