Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

That's it; I want a piney!

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Telemaestro, May 12, 2017.

1. Telemaestro

Telemaestro Tele-Meister

Sep 20, 2013
    Hartville, Ohio
    It's really gotten rather ridiculous... I've been playing guitar for 14 years, I've been working on them almost as long, and I've been building for 9 years, but I've gotten to a point where I literally don't own a guitar...

So, I'm going to build myself a guitar that is the culmination of everything I've learned that I like in a guitar from a players, and builders perspective. It's going to be a pretty simple guitar really, because I'm a pretty simple guy, but it's something that I think will suit me nicely.

Body will be one piece eastern white pine, and the neck will be one piece maple. The body shape is my take on a modified telecaster, but something that will be a little more comfortable, and ergonomic for me personally.

Here goes nothing.

Step 1 was to take a photo of the piece I have for the body blank, I actually bought this as a Windsor chair seat blank, and it's beautiful clear pine.

IMG_4937.JPG

I then went ahead and established a straight edge. My jointer is only 14" wide, so this blank is too large currently to surface.

IMG_4938.JPG IMG_4939.JPG

Found where I want the center of the body to be.

IMG_4940.JPG

And marked out, from my jointed edge, the extents of my desired blank.

IMG_4942.JPG

I set the fence on the band saw to cut off the first edge.

IMG_4943.JPG

IMG_4946.JPG

Set the fence and make the second cut.

IMG_4947.JPG

IMG_4948.JPG

Now the blank is sized appropriately to fit on my jointer.

IMG_4949.JPG