Telecaster build quality year by year - 2002?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by StainlessStevie, Jun 12, 2019 at 3:56 AM.

1. StainlessStevie

StainlessStevie NEW MEMBER!

Hi all, I'm a newbie to this forum. Here in the UK I believe that brand new Teles are over-priced at the top specification, and in the lower priced guitars there have necessarily been compromises. I have an itch to get a tele, and I'm struggling with Ebay choices. A friend of mine paid £400 in the mid-90s and sold it recently at a profit, for £700. So it seems an oldie might be an investment. But I'm not in it for profit, I just want to play, so I'm looking for quality of build, and authentic tele chicken-pickin' sound. I'm tempted by a Baja as possibly the best out of Mexico, but there's some innovation in that guitar which I'm not sure about. To get to the point specifically - what was the build quality, and sound quality and playability, of a USA built standard telecaster of year 2002? Was that a good period, or one of the less glorious times of Fender production?
    Cheers,
    Stainless.

2. dreamingtele

dreamingtele Tele-Afflicted

Id get the Baja instead of the 2002 Am. Std Telecaster..

The top of the line coming out of Mexico is just simply good value.. Manufacturing processes have improved since then, and i believe that quality has been consistent from guitar to guitar..

Look at the specs and see if thats what you like... Baja gets a lot of praise here mainly because of it's fat neck which is super nice, and give a few higher priced tele's a run for it's money.. It doesnt hurt to try around a couple of teles and see which ones you like..

and dont underestimate the Squier CV line as well.

RoCkstAr256, nojazzhere and hemingway like this.
  3. PARCO

PARCO Tele-Meister