Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Tele Noir with Pau Ferro fretboard, some guidance please...

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Mercyfulfate, Aug 1, 2017.

1. Mercyfulfate

Mercyfulfate TDPRI Member

May 14, 2017
    Tornado Alley/OK
    i am thinking of buying this all black MIM Tele as i really like it, it has the Pau Ferro fretboard wich i have no experience with,

does anyone know if its a good fretboard like Rosewood? And of course please comment on the Special Edition Noir Tele.

Thanks...

MadRocker and Twang Banger like this.

2. rze99

rze99 Friend of Leo's

Feb 26, 2014
    South London UK

3. Mercyfulfate

May 14, 2017
    Tornado Alley/OK
    no link^^^ but its the new special edition Telecaster they are calling the Noir with matching headstock.

4. Tony Done

Tony Done Friend of Leo's

Dec 3, 2014
    Toowoomba, Australia
    It is also known as morado, and seems to be fairly common. I checked the physical specs. On average (there will be overlap), it looks better than maple and a little worse than EIR.

5. Mercyfulfate

May 14, 2017
    Tornado Alley/OK
    thanks Tony, i appreciate it. im just trying to figure out if i can do the Pau Ferro board, Its always been Rosewood or Ebony for the last 35 years,never tried or even seen Pau Ferro. is it as nice as Rosewood or Ebony? not sure, is it as hard/smooth?

6. tery

tery Friend of Leo's

Sep 21, 2012
    Tennessee
    It is a sharp looking Tele ! ... I don't think that you will notice any difference in the Pau Ferro board . Disclaimer : I have not personally played one either .

7. Tony Done

Dec 3, 2014
    Toowoomba, Australia