Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Tele bridge pup/tone in a strat?

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by bigben55, Mar 13, 2013.

1. bigben55

bigben55 Friend of Leo's

May 19, 2010
    Cincinnati, OH
    Yes, I know due to construction and the metal bridge plate design of a telecaster that you cannot NAIL that tone on a strat. BUT, how close can you get? Using specifically what????

2. PineBomb

PineBomb Tele-Holic

Mar 4, 2010
    NY, NY
    Similarly, there's the DiMarzio Red Velvet. I have no personal experience with it though.

3. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

4. SPUDCASTER

SPUDCASTER Friend of Leo's

Sep 7, 2010
    whitebird, idaho
    Seymour Duncan - Twangbanger

Harmonic Design - STP

O.C. Duff - Two Timer

These are some Strat bridge pickups that claim "Tele voiced" status.

5. Teleterr

Teleterr Tele-Afflicted

Feb 7, 2011
    Lewes De.
    Or an actual Tele if you have an exacto knife, a file, an emoryboard and like to live dangerously. Or wait, if its not a trad old school rout, then just sand the guard opening and drill new mounting holes. You could even cut off a p/up slot mount from the bridge section of a Tele bridge for the magnetic effect. BUT a Strat whammy bridge vs Tele body-thru fixed is the main sonic difference, Strat vs Teles. I've used Strat, Tele bridge p/ups in custom guitars and other than the Tele being a little fatter sounding they are very similar.

6. Brandon mac

Brandon mac Tele-Holic

Jun 9, 2009
    north alabama
    a david allen johnny blade is exactly what you want!!!

7. bigben55

bigben55 Friend of Leo's

May 19, 2010
    Cincinnati, OH