Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Tap Tempo w/ LED Circuit

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by theorymatt, Jul 15, 2010.

1. theorymatt

theorymatt TDPRI Member

Attached is a circuit for a tap tempo pedal with LED which lights when the DPDT is depressed. The tap seems to work with my delay. My question is two-fold:

1) as you can tell from my diagram, I am new at this and am wondering if I am missing something. The resistor I am using with the LED is 470 ohm to keep the LED really bright. Is that too low a value? Do I need a stereo jack for shorting out the DC jack? (the diagram shows a battery, but I will be using a DC jack.) Any other problems you all see with the circuit?

2) when I plug this into my delay pedal, it seems to work, but I haven't used it for any length of time as I am worried that this circuit might be feeding voltage into my delay pedal (the Fishman Aura Delay - I play a lot of acoustic). Is this the case, and or is this a problem?

Thank you all for your help!

Attached Files:

2. FenderLover

FenderLover Friend of Leo's

No Good. Remove the "X" wiring on the switch. Use half the switch to turn the LED on. Use the other half to short the tip and ring of your jack. No battery connection to the jack, other than grounding the shield/ring to the (-) battery.
    The 470 resistor should be fine. Depending on your LED, you may want to go to 1K.

3. theorymatt

theorymatt TDPRI Member

Here is the switch I have, which is a DPDT momentary on-on switch:

http://www.pedalpartsplus.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=PPP&Product_Code=9004&Category_Code=SWI