Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Surf Green with mixol dried too dull.

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by Aariley5, Aug 31, 2017.

1. Aariley5

Aariley5 TDPRI Member

Aug 31, 2017
    Colorado Springs, CO United States
    Hello,

My name is Aaron. I'm new to this forum but I have been reading threads on here for quite some time, mostly about finishing. I am not new to spraying lacquer or woodworking, I used to do it for a living. However, this is the first time I have used mixol to color clear behlens nitro lacquer. I am working on a kind of surf green if you want to call it that, I know its not as blue as most. When I sprayed it, it was beautiful and vibrant like I wanted, but when it dried it kind of turned into a dull green that I don't particularly like. The picture with the body hanging is right after I sprayed it. The picture with the pickgaurd is how it looks dried. Does anyone have a suggestion of how I might be able to get that vibrant color from the wet picture to show up when it dries? I used behlen clear, and colored it with mixol white, green, and yellow. The mixol green is actually quite blueish in light amounts when you start mixing it in with white.

Attached Files:

Loco85 likes this.

2. Silverface

Silverface Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

Mar 2, 2003
    Lawndale CA
    Didn't you apply the system on a test piece first? i was in the coatings & finishing business for decades and the normal method with a new mix was to test apply the entire system before coating a work piece - otherwise you can get stuck with results.