Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Sugar Pine Build-Questions

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by MerleJam, Dec 23, 2017.

1. MerleJam

MerleJam TDPRI Member

Dec 23, 2017
    Texas
    Hey everyone! I have always wanted to build a guitar and since the Tele is my favorite it made sense that’s what I’d attempt. I have some experience working with wood but not at this level. I have limited tools but am slowly getting things together. I knew this would be the best place to get the advice I needed. I purchased a 3 piece sugar pine blank from Marc at Gilmer Wood Co in Portland Oregon. I found some 1/2 inch mdf templates on ebay that I plan to use for the build. I am open to any tips and guidance. Especially regarding working with the sugar pine. I will be posting pictures as I go along. Thank you guys in advance. Merry Christmas!

2. Ricky D.

Ricky D. Poster Extraordinaire

Oct 22, 2006
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Thanks for joining us!

MerleJam likes this.
  3. jvin248

jvin248 Poster Extraordinaire

Apr 18, 2014
    Near Detroit, MI

Use the templates to make a second set of templates that you use to make the guitar with. That way when you nick the template, you can either repair (glue in a piece and router to size) or make new a second template. If you nick your original you're in a tough space.

When you route the pattern in the wood, cut close to the line first and imagine the router is petting a dog -- move the router so you are petting the grain down not lifting it where it will chip out.

Practice on scrap wood first.

fenderchamp and MerleJam like this.
  4. MerleJam

MerleJam TDPRI Member

Dec 23, 2017
    Texas