Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Subjective views of Tone... on youtube et al

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by burntfrijoles, Oct 6, 2017.

1. burntfrijoles

burntfrijoles Friend of Leo's

Feb 12, 2010
    Jacksonville
    I've been perusing youtube and others looking for examples of great or authentic tone in the Line 6 Helix.
    (Disclaimer: I am an amateur's amateur as a guitar player although I've been playing off and on for over 50 years-I have the "want" but was shortchanged on talent although it doesn't stop me from loving the guitar!)

There are many fine examples of wonderful tone on youtube, both with conventional gear and modelers. Then there are absolutely horrible tones in abundance. Now, I have to give folks credit for being bold and brave to post their work so maybe I just don't get it.

Sometimes the person is trying to copy an artist tone; sometimes a specific amp model group; and others are just about basic rhythm, crunch and lead tones. The tones I hear are nowhere in the ballpark of the artist, or; an over exaggeration or extreme example of the tone (think Marshall lead) or shrill (like digital artifact) of the tone. Yet other times, I just don't think the person is anywhere in the same area code of say, a basic blues tone for example or a simple crunch rhythm. Here's the kicker: some of the posted tones are by really excellent guitarists in terms of skill and technique.

I know this might come out as overly harsh and, as I said, there are lots of great videos of guitarists who absolutely nail what they are playing in terms of tone and feel. I guess my idea of great tone is different than a lot of folks or I guess it shows that tone is really subjective and totally in the ears of the listener.

t guitar floyd and Sounds Good like this.

2. Zeonoid

Zeonoid Tele-Meister

Dec 17, 2008