StewMac Tele Wiring kit opinions?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by bigDschramm, Sep 18, 2012.

1. bigDschramm

bigDschramm Tele-Meister

I need to get a wiring kit for my first Tele build. Any opinions on the StewMac "Vintage" Tele wiring kit? http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Electronics,_pickups/Supplies:_Wiring_kits/Wiring_Kit_for_Telecaster.html?actn=100101&xst=3&xsr=656

I'm a newbie to electronics since my expertise is in classical guitars. Any suggestions for caps, switches, pots, etc...? I love the tone that guys like Vince Gil and Brad Paisley get if that helps. I don't know much about sources for electric components.

I'm considering the StewMac tele pickups as well.

2. BSR77

BSR77 TDPRI Member

I have use thier wiring kits. They are good parts from what I can tell never had an issue with them. I think they offer them with either CTS or Alpha pots.

I have not used thier pickups I am a fan of the seymour duncan's.

3. stratomite

stratomite Tele-Meister

I have purchased complete wiring kits and wiring components from SMac several times with good results. The quality is usually above average.

I bought a set of their Golden Age pickups (humbuckers) and to me they are very "vanilla" sounding. Not bad, just run-of-the-mill pickups. Guitarfetish pickups get knocked on this board a lot, but I have had good luck with them and they are cheaper that Golden Age.

Some other guys can speak to the wiring schematics, but I would guess Brad Paisely's guitars have modern wiring. Just a guess.

4. bullfrogblues

bullfrogblues Friend of Leo's

I've bought a number of wiring kits and pre-wired assemblies from Acme Guitar Works, very good products and service.

5. crazydave911

crazydave911 Poster Extraordinaire