Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Steely Dan's "Third World Man" - Meaning of Lyrics?

Discussion in 'Music to Your Ears' started by JayFreddy, Jan 9, 2013.

1. JayFreddy

JayFreddy Poster Extraordinaire

Nov 6, 2006
    Dallas TX USA

The other thread about Steely Dan's "Here At The Western World" got me thinking about Third World Man...

Right from the first time I heard it, it took my breath away, and it still does. Along with Here At The Western World, it's long been one of my favorite Steely Dan tunes, as well as one of Larry Carleton's greatest guitar solos ever, IMHO.

I've been listening to this song for 30+ years, and I just realized that I don't understand what the lyrics mean. The song has different meanings for me, as it has resurfaced in my life over and over again, as great music is prone to do.

Can anyone help explain the meaning of the lyrics to this tune? Thanks in advance!

(ps. I don't think it's about firearms, although from watching the above video montage, obviously that's what someone else thinks it's about... )
  2. MojoMonster

MojoMonster Tele-Meister

Jul 16, 2010
    Raleigh, NC
    According to this guy:
    And yet this one thinks
    Ghana is a coastal western African country known for its gold trade.
    A rondo is a style of "classical" music writing, exemplified by the final movement of J.S. Bach's E Major Violin Concerto and the last movement of Beethoven's Piano Sonata, Op. 13.
    (cribbed from Wikipedia)

I think it's just commentary about 3rd world politics and the anguish they cause.
  3. Brett Fuzz

Brett Fuzz Tele-Holic

Feb 10, 2012
    Melbourne, Australia
    Not sure either, but one of my all time favourite Steely Dan songs.