Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Singers who play lead guitar

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by tfarny, Sep 13, 2018.

1. tfarny

tfarny Tele-Afflicted

Sep 4, 2008
    Hudson Valley, NY
    I'm interested in ideas and tips from those of you who are the lead singer in your band and ALSO have the full or primary guitar spot. Obvious difficulties arise from combining the two:

1. Looking down at your hands doesn't work at all.
    2. Jumping around is pretty much impossible whilst doing both.
    3. Switching in and out of leads and solos from singing takes a ton of practice.
    4. Pedal hopscotching, for me, just goes out the window.

I'm new to this role but just started a Rockin '50s power trio with a couple of friends. We have played a nursing home and VA hospital (great audiences, actually). More gigs are on the way soon, maybe we'll graduate to playing VFW halls and other places that don't lock on the inside...

I've already learned that I can only have one "sound" for a song and at most I can hop on and off a boost button for soloing. Maybe some of that is the genre, too.
    I've also learned that the guitar playing has to be pretty automatic during verses - I do A LOT out of the A and D shape bar chords. Also that I really, really need to use my pinky a lot now and I'm glad that I worked hard on that skill. Allows me to play a lot of things without changing hand positions / looking down.

At the same time, it is quite a rush to be doing all that cool stuff in front of people!

Anybody else want to share problems, issues, tips and tricks for doing the two highest profile jobs in a band simultaneously?

Chicago Matt likes this.
  2. bluescaster72

bluescaster72 Tele-Holic

Mar 4, 2009