Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Showing off grain. Easiest way

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by jayroc1, Dec 5, 2017.

1. jayroc1

jayroc1 TDPRI Member

Apr 16, 2015
    vancouver
    What Is a simple way of exposing the grain of a guitar body when staining? I'm looking to dye my guitar and then seal it with lacquer.

Do I prep sand, use dye, sand,lacquer then polish? Im a novice at this btw

Thanks

2. jvin248

jvin248 Friend of Leo's

Apr 18, 2014
    Near Detroit, MI

Big D Guitars youtube channel has a lot of videos on what you are after.
    Dark grain fill plus black dye then sand back and do color.

3. philosofriend

philosofriend Tele-Holic

Oct 28, 2015
    Kalamazoo
    Prep sand, use dye, sand, clear lacquer, lacquer with slightly or greatly different dye color, clear lacquer, polish.
    Using two varieties of the same color is safer. Using black or contrasting colors can be dramatic.
    Practice the whole plan on scrap wood. When you are done you will have a beautiful piece of scrap wood to put on your fireplace mantle.

DrASATele and jayroc1 like this.

4. DrASATele

DrASATele Poster Extraordinaire

Jul 6, 2012
    North of Boston
    for something like say maple I . . .
    Sand up to 220... grain raise
    After dry re-sand 220 then 320
    grain raise again when dry re-sand 320
    apply Pre-stain conditioner --->although there are branded versions most of it's just a thinner with additives. If you make your own stain/dye with DNA then plain un-tinted DNA would be your Pre-stain conditioner. Using a water based stain? use water as your conditioner.
    I usually apply the stain within an hour of putting down the conditioner.
    Once the stain is down there's a few things you can do.