Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Should I buy this partscaster?

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by danadig, May 17, 2018.

1. danadig

danadig TDPRI Member

Aug 17, 2017
    Baltimore
    Hey everybody,

I'm new to partscasters over here, and I saw a cool one come up on Craigslist. Here's the description:

This is a copy of a Fender Duosonic I built using a custom made poplar body, and a neck from a Squire Jaguar. The body is finished in a pearl teal nitro, and the neck was tinted amber and finished with TruOil. Nice lightweight, comfortable guitar. It's in excellent condition, other than a a finish chip on the headstock. Pickups are RH Factor alnico V.

It's listed for $375, looks awesome, but I want to make sure I'm not buying a piece of crap. Any tips or insight about buying partscasters and identifying quality? I understand I'm not going to get something high end for that money, but also don't want to buy something crappy since it might be a gigging guitar.

Thanks!! 00D0D_dGqo9dior0F_1200x900.jpg

PeterUK and 3-Chord-Genius like this.

2. Donny Osmond fan

Donny Osmond fan Tele-Meister

May 6, 2018
    Uknown.

3. GuitarsAndCars

GuitarsAndCars TDPRI Member

Oct 17, 2016
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Looks Great! You should probably try it out first.
    There’ll always be people that claim you can only play a guitar made from the finest ‘tonewood’ trees, hand picked by the ghost of Leo Fender from the American side of the Fender Forest. They’ll tell you that “Everything else is garbage”.
    ;)

4. Teleterr

Teleterr Friend of Leo's

Feb 7, 2011
    Lewes De.
    Way too much $. Pretty tho.

5. Lupo

Lupo Tele-Holic

May 19, 2014
    Genova-Italy