Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Sd mini humbucker

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by rrash, Oct 10, 2013.

1. rrash

rrash TDPRI Member

Nov 1, 2007
    I have decided I would like to drop a sd minihumbucker into the neck pickup position. I have been researching wiring information etc. Is there anyplace I could find information regarding wiring diagrams out there? Should I keep the same stock pots? I am a novice to this.
  2. AJBaker

AJBaker Friend of Leo's

Oct 3, 2010
    The Seymour Duncan website has some great wiring diagrams, and the other master circuit designer is phostenix. All you have to do though is run the the lead to the switch where the old wire went, and run the metal mesh to the back of the volume pot.

Whether you need a new bridge pickup really depends on what mini humbucker you ordered and what bridge pickup you already have, not to mention personal taste. Chances are though, that you can get the balance pretty close by fiddling with pickup height.
  3. loversmoon69

loversmoon69 Tele-Meister

Aug 31, 2013
  4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. YoGeorge

YoGeorge Tele-Holic

Mar 16, 2003
    If the mini is a 4-wire pickup, the above diagram is absolutely correct.

If it is a shielded wire with a single center conductor, the center conductor goes to the switch and the shield (ground) goes to the pot ground.

If your bridge pickup is a Fender brand, you will likely have a polarity problem and you will have to revise the 4-wire diagram to put the green to hot and the black/bare to the pot ground. If you have a Fender brand bridge pickup and a shielded single wire bucker, you will have to float the ground on the bridge pickup, reverse the hot and ground wires.