Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Recording with 96Kz resolution

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by Tornado, Jan 12, 2018.

1. Tornado

Tornado TDPRI Member

Mar 13, 2016
    Amsterdam
    Hi guys,

I am still recording with a hardware multitracker. I wonder, do you people who work with recording software on a computer, record with a resolution of 24bit 96Kz?

When it comes to sharing with or selling your music to other people, is it of any use?

2. MA6200

MA6200 Tele-Meister

May 12, 2017
    Maryland
    I always use 24 bit at 44.1k sampling. AFAIK 44.1k is a standard for CDs.

I'm just an amateur though.

3. raito

raito Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

Nov 22, 2010
    Madison, WI
    I do. In fact, it was, along with price, the criterion for my interface selection.

My reasons are esoteric, and have to do with the fact that I occasionally write my own audio processing software.

When I distribute, which is quite rare, I resample to more standard rates/bit depths.

4. Teleterr

Teleterr Friend of Leo's

Feb 7, 2011
    Lewes De.
    Do you lose sound quality at all ?
    I mean the bit rate change.

5. LutherBurger

LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

Oct 29, 2013
    NYC
    I always record and edit/process at a bit depth of 24 (32-bit float), but I think high sample rates are overkill. If the final product is audio only, 44.1kHz is sufficient. If the audio is for a video project, I'll record at 48kHz because that's what the video producers usually ask for.

6. BuckSatan

BuckSatan Tele-Meister

Feb 23, 2011
    USA