Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Recommend modeling setup?

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by highwaycat, Oct 1, 2017.

1. highwaycat

highwaycat TDPRI Member

Jun 15, 2017
    California
    I"m looking for a setup with good amp sims and presets. I can't play loud and I like modelers.
    I use a boss br 600 and like it a lot but I want to upgrade my sound. I play through headphones, but am considering getting some speakers.

I was really considering a Fractal ax8 or a Helix, but the main things that are throwing me off is the price and I'm not experienced in monitors and how I'd go about that.
    But I might save up for one, so they're part of my options.

I grew up playing amps and pedals, and sometimes a multifx pedal like a boss gt8 and Line6 pod.
    Then started using the Boss br 600.

I was thinking of maybe upgrading to a Boss br 800 but I don't know if the amp sims sound better?

I saw a few rack mount modelers but I've never played one, but it could be a possible choice, especially if they're cheaper than the ax8 and helix. But I'm new to rackmount.
    I use to have a Boss gt8 but used it for the effects, didn't like the amp sims.
    I tried the Boss gt100 through the same headphones I usually use and I didn't like it.
    A friend has a new model Zoom multifx but I don't like it.
    So far the Boss br 600 sounds the best to me, but I'd like to consider getting something really nice.

So I'm not sure what to get. I'd really like to have plenty of great sounding amp sims and ability to have presets.

2. joshigh

joshigh Tele-Meister

Jun 10, 2003
    Plant City, FL