Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Question for Fuzz Face experts

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by coldengray, Jan 3, 2019.

1. coldengray

coldengray Tele-Meister

Sep 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    I have been eyeing this Fuzz Face
    PCB from Aion FX:

https://aionelectronics.com/project/solaris-fuzz-face/

My question is this: can I substitute Silicone for Germanium without any other changes? The Project Overview says you can build the pedal with Ge or Si but the build docs don’t mention Si anywhere. I’m a total rookie at this stuff so I have no idea. Thanks!

2. luckett

luckett Friend of Leo's

Jun 14, 2011
    You can swap si and ge, but you may have to make changes to get it to bias the same.

3. Suproman

Suproman Tele-Meister

Feb 23, 2006
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Looking at the schematic, they have a trimpot on the board to adjust the bias for the second transistor, so you might be ok with silicon or germanium transistors.

coldengray likes this.
  4. sirbergersworth

sirbergersworth Tele-Meister

Aug 30, 2011
    St. Louis, MO
    All depends on if the ge it si are both pnp or npn.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

5. sirbergersworth

sirbergersworth Tele-Meister

Aug 30, 2011
    St. Louis, MO
    What board are you building it on?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

6. coldengray

coldengray Tele-Meister

Sep 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    Aion FX Solaris Fuzz. It has all the tweaking knobs I want for a fuzz face and I have a bag of BC109C transistors here ready to roll. I have a good Germanium Fuzz Face already so want to build the ultimate Si Fuzz Face for my needs.

7. Chunkocaster

Chunkocaster Friend of Leo's

Aug 10, 2018
    In space with Ziggy