PT Primary Switching/Fusing

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by muswell_hillbilly, May 20, 2019.

1. muswell_hillbilly

muswell_hillbilly Tele-Meister

I'm still new to this amp-building obsession, so I apologize in advance if I'm walking down a well-worn road...

Regarding PT primary switching/fusing, shouldn't both be on the "hot" conductor? On a different thread, I found myself reviewing a Mojotone 5F1 schematic, and found this:

upload_2019-5-20_16-11-41.png

Then I looked around a bit more and found this on their 5F2A schematic:

upload_2019-5-20_16-15-48.png

Aren't these both wrong? Shouldn't the switching/fusing be on the "hot" conductor? (I really hope I'm not poking some hornet's nest with this question)

Last edited: May 20, 2019
  2. muswell_hillbilly

Here's my thinking (which may be completely wrong): in both cases above, the return path is interrupted, but the source remains (potentially) active (no pun intended).

With an active source looking for a return path, I'm a potential candidate, however remotely.

If the source path is interrupted, the return path is looking for a source, and I believe I'm a poor candidate (been a long time since my wife called my "hot")...

Last edited: May 20, 2019
  3. VintageSG

VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

wf55.jpg

Why not interrupt both and be certain?. The switches don't cost much, and it's better than being zapped. I'm fairly certain it's a requirement in Europe, and it makes sense to me.

Paul-T, muswell_hillbilly and Wally like this.
  4. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

Switch both hot and neutral...run the hot through the fuse as VintageSG shows us.

Paul-T, Nickfl and muswell_hillbilly like this.
  5. Nickfl

Nickfl Tele-Afflicted

As mentioned it ideally should be both, pretty sure UL listing requires it too. But if you are right that if you're doing a spst it should definitely be on the hot side.