Princeton kit in SCXD chassis?

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by swampyankee, May 23, 2019.

1. swampyankee

swampyankee Tele-Holic Gold Supporter

I have a spare Newell cabinet with 12" speaker I bought for a SCXD conversion. I think I may even end up with an extra SCXD chassis, so I'm wondering what I could use it for. Mojotone has a Princeton Reverb "small parts kit" which could make for a fun project. Has any one done a conversion like this, or heard folks that have? How difficult could it be? Although I'm not an electronics tech, I'm a decent electrician and solder dog, and I can follow instructions.

2. King Fan

King Fan Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

Seems like there're two questions here: Can you build an amp? And will the SCXD chassis house a PR?

For the former, simple answer is yes. See many related 'can I' threads here for all sorts of safety, simplicity, and cost comments. The PR is a superb amp, but not (for sure) the simplest to build.

For the latter, you want to count punch outs (tubes) and measure cutouts (esp. the PT). Even drilling, enlarging, and covering holes can be a chore, and for tubes, hole punches aren't cheap, even used. And nibblers? Well...

I think you can hunt up a cheaper PR chassis than Mojo's (though they make an excellent one).

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-5...0001&campid=5338148343&icep_item=223495587641

3. swampyankee

Actually the metal fab is the easy part since my "day job" is as an engineer at a tool and die shop, so I have pretty much any kind of fabrication resources I would need.
    I'm sure I could put the electronics together, even if I had to call on outside resources to help.
    My real question is, has this been accomplished? And what kind of finagling was required to get it done?

King Fan likes this.
  4. schmee

schmee Poster Extraordinaire