Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Powering A Larger Cabinet With A Low Power Tube Head?

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by castpolymer, May 6, 2013.

1. castpolymer

castpolymer Poster Extraordinaire

May 27, 2008
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    I have a Vox Nightrain 15 that I would like to try with a 2 or 4 speaker cabinet. I have never done this before and was wondering if the amp would sound " thin " due to the low wattage. Anyone with experience please feel free to chime in!

I posted this video just because I like the song.

2. telex76

telex76 Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Jun 24, 2006
    Fort Worth,Tx.
    Just be sure its the right impedance cabinet.
    Many around here have used their Champs thru larger cabs with good results.

Tommy Biggs likes this.
  3. muchxs

muchxs Doctor of Teleocity

Aug 14, 2004
    New England
    Works fine. Kicks ass.

TDPRI member Alex W has a whole litter of little ankle biters he sometimes plays through a Marshall 4x12". You heard right, 5 watts through 4x12".

Unfortunately everyone else in the neighborhood hears it note for note, too. It gets loud.

If your goal is to get as much stage volume as you can from a low wattage amp that's the eay to do it.

Chunkocaster likes this.
  4. wrathfuldeity

wrathfuldeity Tele-Afflicted

Apr 25, 2011
    Turdcaster, WA
    Weber Z matcher is a handy little item...then you could do 2 4x12 :eek:

5. buckfuzzard

buckfuzzard Tele-Meister

Nov 13, 2008
    se Pa
    I sometimes power a Marshall 2X12 cabinet with either a Vox ac4tv8 4 watt amp
    or a Blackheart Killer Ant head less than 1 watt.
    Sounds Great either way..
    Not what I'd call thin, could be miked to house system if I needed to..