Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

poor output transformers

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by bmc496, May 14, 2018.

1. bmc496

bmc496 NEW MEMBER!

May 14, 2018
    Riverview, Mi.
    Hello, I am not an expert in this area but do have some knowledge. Built 1,500 and 2,000 watt rf amplifiers from a kit. Been into ham radio since 1972, got extra license in 1989. Also play drums and guitar. Just purchased an Egnater tweaker 88, price was 50% off. I found tubes are Chinese, they will be replaced, my question is the output transformer also Chinese. If yes, should I replace it with a made in US? Bought a Vox NT2H first thing I did was replace preamp tubes with nos matched pair Mullard 12at7's and replaced output transformer. New transformer was $38 with shipping. Could not believe the difference it made, for the better. Take it easy on me, lol, this is my first post, I'm a newb. James

2. VintageSG

VintageSG Tele-Afflicted Ad Free Member

Mar 31, 2016
    Yorkshire
    If the amp was built in China, the transformers will be too. Commercially, it makes little to no sense to ship a transformer from the US or Europe, have it fitted, then ship the completed item back.
    There is nothing wrong with a Chinese transformer, if it is built to spec, and Egnator have bitten on the behind with regard to this, though I think it was non-resettable thermal fuses in the power transformer. The sorry tale is readily available on the Internet should you wish to explore it.
    Try it first. Try it with replacement valves if the stock valves don't cut it for you. What would a different transformer do for you?. What is the limiting factor with the stock transformer.