Opinions on woods for Teles

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by theprofessor, Jun 7, 2019.

1. theprofessor

theprofessor Friend of Leo's

I am about to start on a Tele build with a friend of mine who is a custom furniture builder. He wants to build a Tele, and I'm going to help out some. I'll do all the electronics and setup, and he's going to show me how to do all the woodworking and finishing as he makes his guitar. He's also going to let me use some wood from his shop to make a Tele of my own. I've already gathered all the parts but the body.

We're going to root through his shop tomorrow to pick out wood. He told me he has (numbers following are from Janka hardness chart, just for reference):
    • Ash (Swamp Ash: 1320)
    • Mahogany (ca. 800)
    • Pecan (1820)
    • Tigerwood (ca. 2000?)
    • Guanacaste / Parota (470)
    • possibly Maple (hardness seems to vary a great deal, depending on species)
    I'm no expert on woods.

I do know that Swamp Ash has been standard for Telecasters since their inception, as has Pine and Alder and Poplar. So, depending on what species of ash, that's a fastball over the plate, unless it's just too darn heavy.

I know that Fender also made Teles of Mahogany, and there is even a 2018 offset mahogany Tele that they came out with. I believe I've read that Mahogany tends to sound darker.

I've seen Teles made of Maple--or at least with Maple tops, and I believe I've heard tell that those tend to be brighter.

Tigerwood would likely have to be chambered or be made into a thinline to make the weight reasonable. I know it's reputed to be dense and heavy.

I have heard of Guanacaste being used in acoustic builds, but I'm not sure of solid-body builds.

I know nothing of Pecan and guitars, but dang Pecan is hard!

What advice can you folks give on all the above? Thanks!

2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter