Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Opinions on Aluminium Guitars?

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by Strico, May 12, 2013.

1. Strico

Strico TDPRI Member

Hi , I am a newbie to these boards, I have had a passion for Guitars and guitar music for longer than i care to remember. In my daily life i am a engineer and have always thought of making a guitar something i can give to my son and say your dad made that! Hopefully something tangible to leave behind if i am not around. Well i managed to set a side some time & have a forgiving employer who lets me use machines out of work time, Now a wood machinist i am not i prefer metal. So i designed from scratch a T type guitar then made the whole lot out of Aluminium and anodised it. I guess they will polorize opinion but people who have played them all say nice things. The negative will be weight (8lbs 1oz is that too heavy?) and expansion affecting the tuning, but in reality it doesnt have much difference afterall the strings are metal so will expand much more than wood but with aluminium you have a really stable platform.

Opinions good or bad would be gratefully received!!

Cheers

Mark

Attached Files:

2. Jupiter

Jupiter Doctor of Teleocity

That is AWESOME! Especially the headstock. If you have any more pics of it in-process, we'd love to see 'em.

Welcome!

3. Mellencaster

Mellencaster Friend of Leo's

I don't anything about aluminum guitar but that's a gorgeous guitar, nicely done. Is it a aluminum fret board too ?

4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. SamClemons

SamClemons Poster Extraordinaire

Cool as can be. I think I would like a black headstock and knobs better.

6. Strico