Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Opinion on Peavey 6505 mini head

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by TubeBlues, Feb 13, 2018.

1. TubeBlues

TubeBlues Tele-Meister

Nov 24, 2012
    Quebec
    I just started playing punk rock in my mid 30s, yeah ;)

I've been looking for an affordable amp for living room practice.

They Peavey 6505 mini head seems to offer a lot, but is it any good?

2. ebb soul

ebb soul Poster Extraordinaire

Jun 7, 2016
    Smyrna georgia
    It does offer alot, but I don't care for the way the knobs are integrated into the circuit. To many do hickies anyways.
    Punk? Four knobs , no buttons or push pulls, I say.
    A simple amp should do.
    Try an AC10 or something first.

3. luckett

luckett Friend of Leo's

Jun 14, 2011
    An AC10 over a 6505 for punk? Someone needs to put the bong away for the night. :lol:

20 watts may not be enough for a hard hitting punk drummer.

4. elmoscafeo

elmoscafeo Tele-Afflicted

Jun 29, 2012
    Chicago Suburbs
    My guess is that you're going to want loud and not to clean. Peavey Windsor head fits the bill nicely for cheap. They weren't liked very much because clean is almost non-existent. Very loud, very dirty. It'll take a bit of tweaking on the right cab to dial in the mids that you like. For me, it works best with neutral voiced speakers. I prefer mine through a 412 loaded with Eminence Lady Lucks. If you need loud cleans, you can run the preamp volume really low (as in anemic low), clean boost in the effects loop volume maxed, master volume to taste.

As for the 6505 mini head, I'm not sure that it will be loud enough for you. If you want a 6505, get a full size.

Last edited: Feb 13, 2018

5. ebb soul

ebb soul Poster Extraordinaire