Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Oil Finish

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Shadowrunner, Aug 10, 2018.

1. Shadowrunner

Shadowrunner Tele-Meister

Apr 25, 2008
    Independence, MO
    So I'm about ready to pull the trigger on a warmoth neck and body, but adding finish, of course, both increases wait time and price.

So my question is about the ease and price of a simple oil finish. I've never done any finishing on wood before. Am I better off eating the cost, or doing it myself? The only color will be a medium stain. Oh, and the wood is going to be maple/alder.

2. jimgchord

jimgchord Tele-Meister

Apr 3, 2018
    victor,ny
    It's not hard to do yourself, especially the oil. The only issue you might run into is staining alder. It can be tricky as it has a tendency to come out blotchy.i use dye and spray it on to help control that, but that requires equipment. What are they charging for finishing if you don't mind me asking?

Shadowrunner likes this.

3. SPUDCASTER

SPUDCASTER Poster Extraordinaire

The moderators might move this to the "finely finished" forum. You'll probably get more targeted responses.

I did an Allparts neck with Tru-Oil. Loved the way it turned out. Very easy process. A lot of people like the wipe on poly. Do some research, lots of You Tube videos out there.

The body probably has many different ways to go. Depending on your desire.

Shadowrunner and nojazzhere like this.

4. nojazzhere

nojazzhere Friend of Leo's

Feb 3, 2017
    Foat Wuth, Texas