Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Now I feel stupid ! Deluxe Reverb Speaker

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by I-Wil, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. I-Wil

    I-Wil Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Location:
    Liège
    Hello everyone,
    My problem is simple :
    My WGS G12C has 4 holes
    My deluxe reverb has 8 screws I can't remove.
    Is there a special technique to remove the screws or do I have to drill 4 new holes in my speaker ?

    Thank you !
     
  2. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,245
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    On a blackface I'd drill the speaker.
    What DR do you have ?
     
  3. I-Wil

    I-Wil Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Location:
    Liège
    It's a DDRI with MM trannies, I received it yesterday with no speaker so I can put my G12C in it.
     
  4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

  5. matto

    matto TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Location:
    vroomshoop
    Just cut off 4 off them , you don't need the 8 screws.
     
  6. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,245
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    Ya on a RI I'd just cut four too. Heck I'd cut four off on my blackface cause eights a real pain.
    But I don't want hurt any vintage value my kids will get when I cash in my chips.:D
     
  7. RockerDuck

    RockerDuck Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,288
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Marietta,GA
    I just set the old speaker face to face with the new speaker an match up the holes and drill. Not rocket science and you don't have to be exact. Done it a bunch of times. I like the tight fit of 8 bolts holding a speaker, plus less chance of warping it.
     
  8. CoolBlueGlow

    CoolBlueGlow Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,530
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Hi I-Wil,

    Nah... that's not stupid. Now STUPID would be cutting a hole in the grill cloth and unscrewing four of the unwanted screws out through the FRONT of the grill cloth.

    :)

    You did fine. Never hurts to ask.

    Personally, I'm with RockerDuck. It's more trouble but much better to have 8 fasteners on that puppy. Never got why Leo cheaped out on this one feature. Four screws just always felt a wee bit inadequate to me, with regard to even distribution of torque on a thin metal frame speaker.

    CBG
     
  9. uriah1

    uriah1 Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    14,365
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Around
    Cut off the 4.
    All celestions users must do this..
     
  10. I-Wil

    I-Wil Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Location:
    Liège
    I have a new problem !
    Yesterday, I plugged my DRRI in my Bjr cabinet because I had no time to swap speaker. Today, I remove the chassis etc, look a little what's inside my new amp, then reassemble everything with the G12C and now the amp doesn't turn on ! I also changed the tubes (rectifier and power tubes) to JJ's. The pilot light turned on for 2 seconds, and nothing since then... When I turn the amp on, I can hear that the amp is on (a little little electronic buzz) but only the GZ34 lights up... The fuse looks okay.
    Once again, I need your help :)
    I noticed that, when I took the chassis I put on my desk, I heard a strange noise, like arcing ...
     
  11. Joefish

    Joefish Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,771
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    +1 ( ... my first amp mod back in 1986)

    [​IMG]
     
  12. uriah1

    uriah1 Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    14,365
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Around
    Creative!!!...and they said it could not be done...lol
     
  13. uriah1

    uriah1 Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    14,365
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Around
    Pilot light went out after 2sec standby?
     
  14. I-Wil

    I-Wil Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Location:
    Liège
    I only power the amp on then the pilot light turned off
     
  15. I-Wil

    I-Wil Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Location:
    Liège
    I'll try to put the older tubes. Right back in 5 minutes :)
     
  16. muchxs

    muchxs Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,942
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    New England
    I'd make a new baffle. Been there, done that! I like to be able to go back to as close to "stock" as I can.
     
  17. I-Wil

    I-Wil Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Location:
    Liège
    I swapped the tubes, and still nothing changed. Then I moved a couple of wires and the amp now plays like a charm ! That's interesting...
     
  18. RockerDuck

    RockerDuck Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,288
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Marietta,GA
    Insulate the wires from each other.
     
  19. Ringo

    Ringo Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,119
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis TN
    IF you drill ....

    Be careful not to get any metal shavings inside the speaker, if they get into the voice coil you have a problem, the speaker will buzz like it is blown, don't know any way to get the metal out if it does happen.
    I recently drilled out a Celestion to try in my real BF DR, I taped off all around the speaker to make sure that no filings got into it.
    Don't ask me how I know about this problem :oops:

    On a DR RI I'd just cut off 4 of the screws.
     
  20. Bill Moore

    Bill Moore Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Location:
    Silver City, New Mexico
    I'm not sure why some speakers have 8 holes, but 4 is plenty. Partially screw the stud out toward the grill, and cut the base off from the outside, then screw the rest toward the back of the cab. (The wood screw part is backwards thread).
    I have an EV SRO in my Twin clone, and it only has 4 holes!
     
  21. robt57

    robt57 Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    18,637
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    My money is on A Fender engineer getting ready for those less expensive speakers with lighter ga. frame in 19sixtysomthing....
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Share This Page